From diagnosis to learning to live with Fibromyalgia

My first reason to smile, recently I was recomended a new invention for me, a Dragon.

For those of you who do not know what Dragon is, it is a speak type program.

I am thoroughly enjoying being able to rest my hands, providing I speak clearly I do not need to worry about spelling.

I am sure there are plenty of people out there have sore hands as I have and I think it can change the way I do my work on a day-to-day basis! I will not elaborate on it too much as I have written a guest Blog for Nick Daws which will be published shortly. If you haven’t already and you are interested in writing then I would suggest you follow Nick and his blog at Nick’s writing blog.

Second reson to smile, the sun is shining, everyone feels better when the sun shines, well that is unless you are allergic to the sun, sadly there is a condition that needs folk to cover up away from the sun. I am not excately I sun worshipper, however I always feel my spirits lift when its sunny.

My idea of heaven is a stroll along the beach on a sunny day and hear the waves crashing down onto the beach, I love the sights and sounds and my dream would be to move to somewhere close to the country but also the coast.

Third reason to smile, the warmth of the sun streaming in my window helps my condition of Fibromyalgia. My mucsles do not like the cold, the tighten and sieze up, consequently causing more pain.

Today is a good day, I almost feel normal again, this has a good side and a apprehensive side, why you ask, well how much do I do today without making tomorrow a bad day. We have to learn to pace ourselves and listen carefully to our bodies.

I want to hoover, polish and clean as a downside to the sun streaming in, I can see all the dust laying in wait! I am trying hard to resist, I know to some, not doing the cleaning would be bliss, but I actually enjoy doing it and seeing my home shine!

Earlier this week, my occupational therpist arrived to access me using the equipment that been delivered that day.

Forth reason to smile, I can now shower independantly, Fibromyalgia can make you very stiff in the mornings . So trying to climb over our bath to shower was impossible without my husbands support. I now have a board fitted across the bath, which means this simple device allow me to get in and out independantly. I still struggled to bend sufficently to dry my legs without getting short of breath but I will work on that one.

Fifth reason to smile, Independance is so important to me and any individual. Lately my left arm has a tendancy to become numb and heavy, it does not hurt but does not want to work. This is a pain as I am left handed. Today however it is behaving. When I recieved my blue disabilty badge last week, I wanted to cry. Yes it means my husband can park closer now, so I do not tire so easily and less limping however to was admitting to myself that yes on my bad days I am disabled.

Sixth reson to smile, my home is filled with flowers, from daffodils, tulips to the exotic orchid, here in the UK, Sunday was Mothering Sunday, both my children sent flowers. I love spring, seeing the new lambs, piglets to the wild primroses, the daffodils swaying in the breeze, the cherry blossom starting to unfurl.

My seventh reson to smile although I could find many, I thought seven  a good number to discuss today. The love of my family and support of my friends, many I only know online, via Twitter, Facebook, writing forums and yes I even met a few through a slimming online club. They know who they are, we may not sit across from each other in my lounge but my world is opened up to share a coffee, a smile, a laugh and many vitual hugs are sent back and forth.

To me my resons to smile are priceless, How about yours? I would love to hear what makes you smile in a world than seems in chaos.

Leave a Reply

